Indigenous Financial Institutions

Indigenous Financial Institutions (IFIs) are autonomous, Indigenous-controlled, community-based financial organizations. IFIs provide developmental lending, business financing and support services to First Nations, Métis, and Inuit businesses in all provinces and territories. Support includes business loans, non-repayable contributions, financial and management consulting, and business start-up and aftercare services.

The IFI network plays a critical role in filling the financing gaps and unmet needs faced by Indigenous entrepreneurs. IFIs make loans that conventional financial institutions cannot, by identifying risks and then mitigating those risks by helping Indigenous entrepreneurs avoid them. IFIs have become experts in risk assessment, mitigation, and management for Indigenous entrepreneurs and communities. Although IFIs take on more risk than conventional commercial lenders, annual loan losses averaged only 2.1% in 2019-20.

Within the continuum of lenders that provide loans to Indigenous entrepreneurs and businesses, IFIs are connected with their communities at the grassroots level. The IFI network is highly focused and dedicated to meeting the developmental lending needs of Indigenous businesses and communities across the country.

Where to find those 58 IFIs

Please note that an IFI may have multiple offices in different locations, we’ve only listed their main office.  Always check their website for company details.

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) Enoch
Apeetogosan (Métis) Development Inc. (AMDI) Edmonton
Community Futures Treaty Seven (CFT7) Calgary
Indian Business Corporation (IBC) Calgary
Settlement Investment Corporation (SIC) Edmonton
Aboriginal Business and Community Development Centre Prince George
All Nations Trust Company (ANTCO) Kamloops
Burns Lake Native Development Corporation (BLNDC) Burns Lake
CFDC of Central Interior First Nations Kamloops
Haida Gwaii Community Futures Massett
Métis Financial Corporation of BC (MFCBC) Surrey
Native Fishing Association (NFA) West Vancouver
Nuu-chah-nulth Economic Development Corporation (NEDC) Port Alberni
Stó:lō Community Futures Corporation (SCF) Chilliwack
Tale’Awtxw Aboriginal Capital Corporation (TACC) West Vancouver
Tribal Resources Investment Corporation (TRICORP) Prince Rupert
Arctic Co-operative Development Fund (ACDF) Winnipeg
Cedar Lake Community Futures Development Corporation The Pas
Community Futures North Central Development (CFNCD) Thompson
Dakota Ojibway Community Futures Development Corporation (DOCFDC) Headingley
First Peoples Economic Growth Fund Inc. (FPEGF) Winnipeg
Kitayan Community Futures Development Corporation Winnipeg
Metis Economic Development Fund (MEDF) Winnipeg
Louis Riel Capital Corporation (LRCC) Winnipeg
Northwest Community Futures Development Corporation Lynn Lake
Southeast Community Futures Development Corporation Winnipeg
Tribal Wi-Chi-Way-Win Capital Corporation (TWCC) Winnipeg
Akaitcho Business Development Corporation (ABDC) Yellowknife
Deh Cho Business Development Centre (DCBDC) Fort Simpson
NWT Métis-Dene Development Fund (MDDF) Yellowknife
Sahtu Business Development Centre (1-800-464-2923) Norman Wells
Thebacha Business Development Services (TBDS) Fort Smith
Ulnooweg Development Group Inc. (serving all Atlantic provinces with multiple offices) Truro, Stephenville, Eel River Bar First Nation
Atuqtuarvik Corporation Rankin Inlet
Baffin Business Development Corporation (BBDC) Iqaluit
Kakivak Association Iqaluit
Kitikmeot Community Futures Inc. (KCFI) Cambridge Bay
Kivalliq Business Development Centre Rankin Inlet
First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario (FNAFO) Stirling
Métis Voyageur Development Fund Inc. (MVDF) Ottawa
Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund (NADF) Fort William First Nation
Rainy Lake Tribal Area Business & Financial Services Corporation Fort Frances
Tecumseh Community Development Corporation (TCDC) Sarnia
Two Rivers Community Development Centre Ohsweken
Wakenagun Community Futures Development Corporation Moose Factory
Waubetek Business Development Corporation Birch Island
Corporation de développement économique montagnaise (CDEM) Sept-Îles
Eeyou Economic Group / CFDC Inc. (EEG) Waswanipi
Nunavik Investment Corporation (1-819-964-0227) Kuujjuaq
Société de crédit commercial autochtone (SOCCA) Wendake
Tewatohnhi’saktha Business Loan Fund Kahnawake
Beaver River Community Futures Development Corporation (BRCFDC) Meadow Lake
Clarence Campeau Development Fund (CCDF) Saskatoon
Northern Enterprise Fund Inc. (NEFI) Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation Inc. (SIEF) Asimakaniseekan Askiy Reserve
SaskMétis Economic Development Corporation (SMEDCO) Saskatoon
Visions North CFDC LaRonge
däna Näye Ventures Whitehorse
Scroll to top